Sightings for the week ending 15/01/2017

img_0427_dxo

Spotted Redshank (courtesy of Alan Dunk)

A wet end to the week, none of the snow that we were promised though. I suppose that is good, though I do really enjoy the snow. I spent the week at Swanwick mostly where the feeders were overflowing with feeding Blue Tits, Bull Finches, Great Tits, Coal Tits, Marsh Tits, Nuthatch, Great spotted Woodpeckers and Long Tailed Tits. So, if you want some nice photos of some nice woodland bird species, this is an excellent spot.

A quick walk through Hookheath on Friday didn’t turn up a lot, a few Marsh Tit and Bullfinch but not a lot else.

Nothing has changed much at Farlington this week. Maybe this cold weather will push some more birds down but so far Brent Geese numbers remain low but wader numbers are consistently high. The Spotted Redshank is being very obliging and feeding by the building. I was down there last weekend and the Bearded Tits were at the southern end of the reed bed, flitting around near the outlet. Usually they are up by the building this time of year.

 

One thought on “Sightings for the week ending 15/01/2017

  1. Hi Chris, I enjoy reading your blog, thankyou.

    In the past I have been a looker at Hookheath Meadows, however I seem to have missed out this year. Emma did contact me at the beginning of the year, usually I do weekends but I wanted to meet up with some one down there first due to the bull being present! I contacted Emma but it seems she might have moved on so I’m afraid it never materialised – maybe next year? I really like the Hookheath Meadows site and would be keen to receive info on any working parties you have there, I live locally, many thanks

    Kate Small

    On 13 January 2017 at 17:32, Solent Reserves Blog wrote:

    > hiwwtchris posted: ” A wet end to the week, none of the snow that we were > promised though. I suppose that is good, though I do really enjoy the snow. > I spent the week at Swanwick mostly where the feeders were overflowing with > feeding Blue Tits, Bull Finches, Great Tits, Coa” >

Leave a Reply

