Katie’s Legacy

In between doing this and that today I managed to squeeze in a quick visit to Farlington. From my first steps onto the sea wall it was clear I had somewhat overlooked the effect of the weekend storms on the reserve (probably as I was looking for dangerous trees and the like) but there was clear signs we had a serious overtopping event during ‘Storm Katie’. There is seaweed all over the place, flattened grass where water had clearly flowed and lots of moved gravel that was once on top of the seawall, now unfortunately off the wall and in places in the ditch. Luckily it doesn’t look like there is too much serious damage – just three boats we have now ‘acquired’ around the sea wall.

Washed up boat (Part 1)

Washed up boat (Part 1)

Washed up boats (part 2)

Washed up boats (part 2)

I think that the sea had overtopped in most places around the marsh, even around the eastern side – which is quite something! All water bodies on the marsh are looking incredibly full (most likely with sea water) and there is even a clear strand line on South Marsh, showing how high the water must have got.

Strand line on main marsh & Sea weed on the fence lines

Strand line on main marsh & Sea weed on the fence lines

I feel I must make an edit to my last post and retract my statement that all the Brent geese have left. On the Deeps there were 86 still feeding up but they were very flighty so I guess its only a matter of time till they join their buddies and leave for Northern climes too. Other sightings of note were a Female/Juv type Marsh harrier hunting the reedbed and the scrape, three Harbour seals hauled out on the low tide mud, 9 Mediterranean gulls  on the Stream and I heard two Chiffchaff (one around the Point and the other around the Bushes).

Marsh harrier

Marsh harrier

Med Gull in flight

Med Gull in flight

Two Med gulls amongst Blackheads and a herring gull.

Two Med gulls amongst Blackheads and a herring gull.

As far as Im aware, from the people I spoke to, there were no sightings of any migrant action today – Alas my first Wheatear sighting had to wait for another day….

4 thoughts on “Katie’s Legacy

Leave a Reply

