Migration in Action

After having a week on leave the last couple of days have been busy filled up mostly on my part with driving around the county picking bits of kit up or getting materials for some summer jobs. The Farlington volunteers and Emma, however, were busy starting on the fencing in the Hayfield yesterday. They made a cracking start getting most of the posts in place and even started on getting the wire up. While they were busy digging holes I popped over the other side of the A27 to check if Storm Katie had left her mark. Luckily we had got away with just minor damage with one or two trees down internally. Along the way I heard three Chiffchaff spread out along the length of the railway boundary.

The sound is litterally the soundtrack of spring so I had to take a short video of it as it sung above me.

Today was similar to yesterday, as I spent the morning driving around dropping off bits of kit and delivering a load of fence posts in to Farlington. In the half an hour or so I spent on site (going no further than the main track by the hut) I saw some clear signs that spring is getting going and migration is in action. First to grab my attention was a male Reed bunting in song and then a pair of Bearded tit flittering around. After unloading the trailer and driving back past the hut three hirundines caught my eye. Three Sand martin, quickly shot past. Up the stream and over the hut disappearing out of site as soon as they had appeared. 5 minutes later a Swallow followed suit. Both my first of the year. Other visitors have reported seeing Wheatear but I have yet to find time to see any myself. Similar to the hirundines, these first few Wheatears are not hanging around for too long on the reserve, getting well on their way on their migration.

A pair of Beardies.

A pair of Beardies.

Sand martin

Sand martin

A rather silhouetted Swallow. My very first this year.

A rather silhouetted Swallow. My very first this year.

Although I didn’t have time for a proper look it seems like the Brent geese have now left the harbour. Reports tell me they made a break for it early last week. Other bird reports from around the reserve are Merlin on the 27th, 3 Wheatear yesterday and Short-eared owl also on the 27th.

Leave a Reply

