An Overlooked Pond

I had planned to go to Farlington and do some topping on Thursday, bet when I got there, rather late in the afternoon, I found that the North Marsh trough was still not working properly, so fixing that took precedence. Unfortunately I could not turn off the water before I replaced the valve so I got rather wet. I then had to wait until the trough refilled enough to stop the cattle from pulling off the float arm, something they will do if the can reach it. As I waited I took a good look at the pod near the trough, something I have never really done before a sit is in the middle of the field and not a place I visit very often. I soon realised it is unlike any other pond on the marsh, being shallow and filled with broad-leaved pondweed.

North Marsh pond

North Marsh pond

There are stands of sea clubrush and water plantain growing up through the pondweed as well as a variety of other species. Looking more closely I could see beetles walking about on the pondweed leaves, they were very ponderous and I soon saw that they were eating away at the surface of the leaves.

beetle eating pondweed leaf

beetle eating pondweed leaf

I am no expert on beetles but I thought I recognised the general type of beetle as one of the leaf-beetles of the genus Donacia. I was able to check this later and it seems to be Donacia versicolorea.

Donacia versicolorea

Donacia versicolorea

Looking about I found several other interesting things, amongst them a dragonfly exuvia.

dragonfly exuvai

dragonfly exuvai

Also a group of pea mussel shells left behind by the falling water level, I have not been able to identify the species, there are several and they are very similar.

pea mussels

pea mussels

Being out in the middle of the field did rather restrict the other wildlife I saw, there were a good few yellow wagtail with the cattle, at least 20 or so and some cam every close to me as I was stood among the animals. The wryneck was reported again as was an osprey out in the Harbour.

Leave a Reply

