Nesting Season Gets Going (at last)

The promise of a fine day had me down at Farlington bright and fairly early to map the lapwing territories, unfortunately when I got there the reserve was covered in thick fog. So I when and checked on the cattle first and incidentally saw another new species of bird for the year, a first summer little gull over the Stream. I ha d a report of a swift seen flying in and out of the gloom and sure enough when the fog did clear there were 7 swifts feeding low over the North Marsh, another new bird for the year.

Very quickly the sun came out strongly and I was off to check on the lapwings. So far things are looking good, there are at least thirty-two territories and the majority are sitting on eggs and so far only two pairs seem to have lost their clutches. Let’s hope this results in lots of young hatching and good productivity.

When I got to the Deeps the little gull had got there before me, I took the chance to get a very poor picture, my excuse is it was quite distant and, as the name suggests, it was small.

little gull

little gull

Otherwise my walk round was uneventful, 4 wheatear, a few swallow and a house martin were the birds of any note.

I then attempted to do a butterfly transect, the idea is to walk a set route and count all the butterflies seen on a fixed width transect, unfortunately I saw no butterflies, despite the sunshine. The gorse flowers were looking and smelling very good though.

gorse flowers

gorse flowers

 

Leave a Reply

