150 Up!

I was not on any of the Solent Reserves today, but I did visit a Hampshire & Isle of Wight Wildlife Trust reserve where I brought up my 150 species of birds in Hampshire this year. The site was Broughton Down and the bird was a cuckoo. A short while previously I had got numbers 148 (house martin) and 149 (willow warbler) along the Test Way at Horsebridge. I also saw two new species of butterflies for the year, these being several brimstone  and peacock, in fact I had still only seen one individual butterfly this year prior to today.

It was like a proper spring day today, cloudy, but warm, at least by recent standards, could it be too much to expect that the weather is at last getting back to something like “normal”?

 

Leave a Reply

