Mothing mad….? Yet more tales from the HQ trap.

I think I might be going abit mothing mad at the moment, but please bear with me and my rambles….

Well it seems the waiting game might be coming to a close. The wind has changed direction and night time air temperatures are on the rise. Last nights min temperature at Hwt HQ was a barmy 6.3° C and the warmer temperatures seem to be waking a few more insects up from their winter slumber.

Moths!!!

Moths!!!

Last night I had the same number of individuals as earlier in the week (19) but these were spread across 9 species this time. New species were Early Grey, Small Quaker (probably had them in the trap earlier in the week but they were incorrectly ID’ed as Common Quakers) and a Micro – Caloptilia stigmatella (One of the Hwt ecologists kindly ID’ed it). So things seem to be on the up!

Early Grey

Early Grey

These are all common moths that probably anyone could catch in their garden with a moth trap but Im finding it all very exciting (probably too exciting). Im not sure how Im going to cope once spring gets going proper. With my novice mothing skills it takes me long enough to ID just one moth I don’t recognize. I think I might need to rope in some help.

Caloptilia Stigmatella

Caloptilia Stigmatella

A closer image with the macro lens & Dslr.

A closer image with the macro lens & Dslr.

One surprise to find hiding under the egg box was this little critter. I believe it is some sort of dung beetle but I have no idea.

Dung Bettle?

Dung Bettle?

Keep them peeled for yet more over excited tales of moths in weeks to come…!

Rob

Trap count
12/04/2013 (week 15)
Oak Beauty (2)
Hebrew Character (3)
Common Quaker (6)
Brindled Pug (1)
Small Quaker (3)
Powered Quaker (1)
Caloptilia stigmatella (1)
Early Grey (1)
Bettle (sp?) (1)

One thought on “Mothing mad….? Yet more tales from the HQ trap.

Leave a Reply

