Birds Abound

A very pleasant day on the Marsh, a little cold int he breeze but sunny and there were lots of birds on the fields with the tide being well up. There are still a good few thrushes about, nothing like as many fieldfare as there were but still probably at least three figures.

fieldfare and redwing

fieldfare and redwing

There were also a few redwing, although these were all close to bramble clumps rather than out on the open fields as the fieldfare were.

redwings and song thrush

redwings and song thrush

In the background of this shot there is an out of focus song thrush as well.

On the Main Marsh I found the pale-bellied brent goose in the main brent flock, but the red-breasted goose seems to have gone for good and my hopes of seeing the black brant that has been seen on Portsea Island continue to come to nothing. The lapwing flock was accompanied by at least 3 golden plover and there were several dunlin feeding around the puddles.

Out in the Harbour it was good to see a large wader roost of dunlin, knot and grey plover on Baker’s Island, they usually roost at the Oyster Beds these days. I spotted a common seal from the Point and tried to direct another birder to it, but failed, however he did find a razorbill, which flew off south down the Harbour. The Point Field itself seemed filled with water rails as I could hear them calling all over the place.

flooded Point Field

flooded Point Field

I went over to the gate on the north side of the Point Field to look over the back of the Deeps. There were lots of birds feeding and roosting.

kestrel and other birds by the Deeps

kestrel and other birds by the Deeps

The picture above has a kestrel as well as brent, wigeon and curlew, not a bad selection, however I think the next one has a larger selection.

lots of birds

lots of birds

Not all the birds are in sharp focus, but I think I can identify ten species.

Other birds of note were rather few, the male marsh harrier was seen early on and I had a single raven fly over, I am not sure where the other one was as I always seem to see two together. At the Building the were bearded tit calling as usual and a Cetti’s warbler calling in the Point Field was my first there this winter. The sunshine was being enjoyed by the skylarks and I heard several singing as I walked round the wall.

Leave a Reply

