Waxwings!

Although I am still on holiday officially, I couldn’t wait until next week to post this…

Today I was outside my house in the New Forest when I heard some strange chattering in the trees, a bird call I didn’t really recognise. I looked up into a nearby Oak to see 10 Waxwings sat in it. They were scoping out the Rose hips in the hedgerows below and would occasionally come down en-mass for a feed. They didn’t seem unsettled by my presence and I even had time to run into the house to get my camera and binoculars. Here are some snaps I managed to capture until they all flew off to explore the hedgerows further down the road.

Some of the 10 strong flock

Some of the 10 strong flock

Waxwing

Waxwing

It was such a surprise sighting, I just hope 2013 has more personal bird sighting firsts, no doubt it will!

Rob

Leave a Reply

